Contact
Site: US UK AU |

How to configure the Magento Product Importer (Magmi)

How to configure the Magento Product Importer (Magmi)

Vulnerability and Nexcess policy

Prior to the 2014 Holiday season, the Nexcess Systems Operations team scanned all Magento sites hosted on our platform and disabled the Magmi Product Importer in all system infrastructure. This action was based on an email sent by the Magento support team regarding the Magmi vulnerability, which allows an attacker to use the importer to remotely upload malicious code.

For more information regarding the Magmi vulnerability, see Magento Magmi Security Bulletin.

Using Magmi

In order to use the Magmi Product Importer safely, you must restrict public access to the importer. Password protecting the importer and limiting access to the importer by IP address are the two best solutions.

Second, rename the Magmi directory, as our team has blocked access to the Magmi directory on our servers.

For 24-hour assistance any day of the year, contact our Support Team by email or through the Client Portal.

Article Rating (1 Votes)
Rate this article
  • Icon PDFExport to PDF
  • Icon MS-WordExport to MS Word
 
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
What are some useful Magento scripts?
Added on Mon, Oct 13, 2014
How to configure multiple Magento storefronts
Added on Mon, Jul 29, 2013
How to enable the Magento profiler
Added on Thu, Feb 25, 2016
How to create Magento and WordPress dev sites
Added on Wed, Aug 3, 2016
What is Turpentine?
Added on Thu, Aug 28, 2014
How to perform Magento database maintenance
Added on Tue, Jul 30, 2013
How to flush your Magento cache
Added on Tue, Mar 1, 2016
How to improve Magento maintenance mode
Added on Mon, Feb 24, 2014
How to patch your Magento store
Added on Mon, Jan 11, 2016
How to purchase Nexcess shared hosting plans
Added on Mon, Jan 4, 2016