What is an extended validation (EV) multi-domain SSL certificate?

What is an extended validation (EV) multi-domain SSL certificate?

Extended validation multi-domain SSL certificates allow a domain owner to assign multiple domains and sub-domains to a single SSL certificate. They differ from standard multi-domain SSL certificates in that they allow the inclusion of multiple fully qualified domain names (FQDN).


Apple browsers (Mojave, iOS) no longer support the visual cue associated with EV SSL certificates, which is the legal identity appearing to the left of the web address.. Chrome will likewise discontinue on September 10, 2019. Firefox will do the same on October 22, 2019. As a result, we recommend considering an alternative type. Contact our sales team for assistance.


EV multi-domain certificates are also known as a Subject Alternative Name (SAN) certificate. They are considered special due to the owner’s ability to validate multiple domains and subdomains with a single SSL certificate.  

  • www.example.com
  • example.com
  • blog.example.co.net
  • example.es 

Or multiple domain names, such as

  • www.example.com
  • example.co.net  
  • computing-ideas.com

An EV multi-domain name provides the ability to include multiple fully qualified domain names (FQDN) within the same certificate. However, EV multi-domain certificates will only support the specific FQDN entered into the certificate. In most cases, EV multi-domain certificates will support up to 100 FQDNs in one certificate. Only one unique IP address is required per domain name and one can add domain names for a relatively low cost. This gives a business an affordable means of attaching multiple trading names to one certificate. 

  • Green address bar
  • Site Seal with EV Upgrader
  • Extended validation
  • Next Generation 2048-bit SSL
  • 256-bit encryption
  • Browser support
  • Mobile support
  • Free replacement
  • $250,000.00 (USD) Warranty


The first requirement is that all domain names are registered under the same same owner. As the highest class of SSL certificates available, Extended Validation SSL Certificates (EV SSL) activate both the padlock and the green address bar in all major browsers.

  • Proof of domain ownership
  • Online public directory information
  • Articles of incorporation
  • Certificate of formation
  • Charter documents
  • Business license
  • Doing business as
  • Registration of trade name
  • Partnership papers
  • Fictitious name statement
  • Vendor/Reseller/Merchant License
  • Merchant license


For more information or sales inquiries, visit the Nexcess website or contact our sales team between 9 a.m. and 5 p.m. eastern time (ET), Monday - Friday.

Article Rating (2 Votes)
Rate this article
  • Icon PDFExport to PDF
  • Icon MS-WordExport to MS Word
Attachments Attachments
There are no attachments for this article.
Related Articles RSS Feed
What is a CSR?
Added on Mon, Sep 8, 2014
What is a standard SSL certificate?
Added on Thu, Feb 5, 2015
How to purchase an extended validation (EV) standard SSL certificate
Added on Mon, Dec 22, 2014
What is a Wildcard SSL certificate?
Added on Tue, Feb 3, 2015
What is SNI?
Added on Tue, Jan 10, 2017
What is a premium SSL certificate?
Added on Thu, Feb 5, 2015
What is a multi-domain SSL certificate?
Added on Thu, Feb 5, 2015
What is a self-signed SSL certificate?
Added on Mon, May 18, 2015
How to cancel a SSL certificate
Added on Wed, Oct 17, 2018
How to renew your SSL certificate
Added on Mon, Feb 23, 2015